It’s Not So Bad After All.

Posted: December 1, 2010 in Cultural Brainwashing, Film and Television, Rants
Tags: , , ,

When Sarah Palin’s Alaska premiered on TLC (The Learning Channel, how ironic is that?) and got 5 million viewers, I about shit myself.  A tiny part of me lost hope in humanity for about a week or so.  I should note this isn’t that unusual for me.  I tend to lose all hope in humanity at least once every couple months.

Well, I ran across a couple of things today that brought a flicker of hope back into my heart.  According to this, viewership for Palin’s show has declined by 40%.  Not only that, but the median age for her viewers is around 57 years old which is not a demographic that many cable channels strive to capture.

On the other hand, AMC’s The Walking Dead has set a new record with over 5.6 million viewers tuning in for it’s fifth episode.  That’s a 300,000 viewer increase in comparison to it’s debut episode.  It also holds firm grip on the 18-49 year old demographic (3.2 million viewers).  I don’t have cable, so I’ve only seen one episode of The Walking Dead (while I was getting treatments at the hospital).  From what I’ve seen it looks pretty cool.  I can’t wait for season one to get put on Netflix.

So anyway, my point is the world can’t be too screwed if a TV show about zombies spanks the ass off of Palin’s reality show.  Especially when it’s being watched by tomorrow’s leaders.  The kids might not be exactly marching in the streets, but at least they’re learning how to battle hordes of zombies.

Zombies are slow moving, brain dead, irritable, angry, operate within a herd mentality, probably don’t spell too well, and strive on attacking and feeding off of others.  The more Americans learn about battling zombies, the better!

 

republican_zombies

Comments
  1. texshelters says:

    Moosehammer,

    Living in Arizona, I have become tired of Zombies.

    I am not shocked that Palin’s show gets and audience. While no more than 20% of the US likes here, that’s still 60 million plus people. If I want a wilderness show, I want Wild Kingdom or Grizzly Adams.

    Peace,
    Tex Shelters

  2. osolynden says:

    This blog actually upset me. There is no call to demean the spelling of Zombies. None I tell you. 😉

Leave a Reply

